top of page

When Burnaboy Tells The Truth I had To Cry, Recognition Is Everything!

If I'm Lying is on this just caused emotions level that his album Tested approved and Trusted remains a keeper in this household.


 If I'm Lying, The Ocean ANd Seas Start Drying, The Birds In The Trees Stop Flying And The Trees Of The World Start Dying


Burnaboy is well known for his Live performances and Audio Visual registrations and video's.

I was stunned to see a poster announce he will perform in the Amsteredam Arena Johan Cruijff Arena this coming June 9, 2024, beautiful day in almost summer here with the husky and incredibly sensual tones expressed by artist Burnaboy, he is of roots already beyond that here in Dutch hearing him speak but his record is out in the United States and he is in the billboard charts. This album is just a lot more sophistiicated than many of the other urban soul and black music efforts,. often heard only once in passing on one of our media devices. Burnaboy his voice moves you, it really can since he uses his voice as an instrument with the other instruments being as laid back and, how we have to use that word, perfectly primitive and rooted in roots of African Caribbean and Southern European genres that are currently blending into a more generic urban young r&b city movers with a special sense of voicing the right message at the right moment, or mixing official albums with AI artificial intelligence sounds. If I'm Lying, The Ocean ANd Seas Start Drying, The Birds In The Trees Stop Flying And The Trees Of The World Start Dying. The words and the melody of the choru, the voice that has been a regular friendly and calming soothing rhyme in my ears these past weeks, these words instanbtly made me cry.

I had not been able to for years, despite all my trials.

 If I'm Lying, The Ocean ANd Seas Start Drying, The Birds In The Trees Stop Flying And The Trees Of The World Start Dying

I was struck at how I has probably spent another seven or twelve days reading about wars that would not have had to occur, hysteria about fabrications and hypothesis obviously crafted to keep the press machine that will snap youe face and eat your mind too governing the world, as it has been doing, rather than the other way round, serving as a control mechanism to be critical

of decision made by politics and politicians. Now, inflated ego's are not in fashion and we don't need another spin on the stacking up of untruths that were written and told so that in the end we feel that we can believe everything from RusT TO ILT to TiT to LIT to Led or even AT if not ART but these new codes are too desensitizing for us to really get any idea of what is being expressed. For so many years already. I am not for the spoken word only trend because the memory may not last or the truth will pass us by. Truth is that there are more groups and subcultures now existing, and they all have their perks and peculiarities as well as their jargon or inclusive language. I myself am in a block or a cell block H type of isolation that makes me find the only words I can recognize in my reality, that is defined by time, in the comforting words of pop music, from wherever in the world. Here is to World Music and This Time For Africa!

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page